Support us by donating :)

Your ad here?

Friday, March 25, 2016

Live review: Symphony X, Myrath, Melted Space at 013, Tilburg, 20-3-2016

Tilburg’s 013 marked the final leg of Symphony X’s “Underworld Europe Tour”, as for their guests from Myrath and Melted Space, and so it should be another epic evening in Brabant.

The French guys from Melted Space opened the evening with a 30-minute setlist, filled with Opera metal. Already impressive and bombastic to listen to on their records, their live performance was even better, even though it got partly pretty crowded on the Jupiler stage with keyboards, drums, one bassist, one guitarist and 4 (!) singers. Nevertheless, as said, Melted Space was able to convince everyone of their capabilities, performing mainly from their latest record, “The great lie”. Extracts were “No need to fear” and “Terrible fight”, to name just two. Great show, let’s hope we get to see more of these guys in the future!

Next up was Ex-Symphony X tribute band Myrath, coming all the way from Tunesia. Oriental influences can also be heard in their songs and of course in their 7-song performance, kicking off with “Jasmin”, and amongst other followed by “Wide shut” and “Merciless times”. A very powerful performance that was the fundamental, together with Melted Space, for the main event of the evening…

… and after a 30 minute tag break, it was time for progressive metallers Symphony X. The guys from New Jersey really cared about having a great time on this final night of the European tour, and so did the audience. Starting with the “Overture” of their latest record “Underworld”, they proceeded to play the entire album, including “Nevermore” and my personal favorite of the album, “Without you”. Great gestures were the dedication of “Swan song” to the deceased Twisted Sister drummer AJ Pero, and “Legend” to Ronnie James Dio. Next to the brilliant songs of “Underworld”, Symphony X also performed some older songs, such as “Sea of lies” and “Out of the ashes” from the “the divine wings of tragedy”-album. After 1,5 hours and an overall brilliant evening, it was time to say adieu. Let’s hope the guys come back soon!

Setlist Symphony X:
1. Overture (from tape)
2. Nevermore
3. Underworld
4. Kiss of fire
5. Without you
6. Charon
7. To hell and back
8. In my darkest hour
9. Run with the devil
10. Swan song
11. The death of balance
12. Out of the ashes
13. Sea of lies
14. Set the world on fire
15. Legend

Written by Julia Obenauer

Official website Symphony X
Facebook Symphony X
Twitter Symphony X
Official website Myrath
Facebook Myrath
Twitter Myrath
Facebook Melted Space
Twitter Melted Space

No comments:

Post a Comment