Support us by donating :)

Your ad here?

Thursday, January 21, 2016

Urgehal release new song feat. Nocturno Culto

Urgehal are now unveiling the next amazing new track taken from their forthcoming full-length 'Aeons in Sodom', which has been scheduled for worldwide release on February 12th. The song "The Iron Children" featuring Darkthrone fronter Nocturno Culto is streaming below.

Urgehal have previously released the artwork and track list of 'Aeons in Sodom', which can both be viewed below.

1. Dødsrite
2. The Iron Children
3. Blood of the Legion
4. The Sulphur Black Haze
5. Lord of Horns
6. Norwegian Blood and Crystal Lakes
7. Thy Daemon Incarnate
8. Endetid
9. Psychedelic Evil
10. Woe
11. Funeral Rites (Sepultura cover)
12. Twisted Mass of Burnt Decay (Autopsy cover)

Photo-credit: Marina Petru

When Trondr Nefas sadly passed away of natural causes at the age of 34 on May 13th in 2012 this also sealed the end of Urgehal. Out of friendship, respect and as a tribute to their late singer and guitarist, the Norwegians decided to go ahead with producing a final album. Half of the material on 'Aeons in Sodom' was written by Trondr with the other half contributed by guitarist Enzifer. Urgehal invited close friend and band mates from other projects of Nefas to contribute and those honoured in this way all joined to pay homage.

'Aeons in Sodom' is therefore a very special record – a work coming from the heart that is truly keeping the faith and spirit of original Norwegian black metal. This album is adhering to the principles that Trondr Nefas demanded to be followed such as a strict policy of using satanic and misanthropic lyrics as well as a dirty and harsh sound.

Urgehal emerged onto the scene with a massive brutality and onslaught of fierceness that challenged even the underground of Norwegian extreme music. Their vitriolic viciousness became apparent already during the band's demo days with 'Ferd' (1994) and 'Rise of the Monument' (1995). This raw impression was further enhanced by the release of their debut album 'Arma Christi' (1997). With the crushing second full-length 'Massive Terrestrial Strike' (1998), Urgehal finally established their name among the most aggressive black metal hordes.

While the Norwegians remained true in their traditional approach to this style during the follwoing albums 'Atomkinder' (2001), 'Through Thick Fog Till Death' (2003), 'Goatcraft Torment' (2006) and also their latest 'Ikonoklast' (2009) there were always slight but effective changes that added dynamics and an unholy groove.

Urgehal have reached the end of their road with 'Aeons in Sodom', but the black metal icons are going out with a massive strike more than worthy of this occasion.

In memoriam Trondr Nefas (May 28th, 1977 - May 13th, 2012)

Recording line-up
Trondr Nefas: guitar solos
Enzifer: guitars, bass
Uruz: drums

Guest musicians
Nocturno Culto (Darkthrone): vocals on track 2
M. Shax (Endezzma): vocals and lyrics on track 3 and lyrics on track 5
Byron Braidwood (Monumentomb): guitar solo on track 3
Hoest (Taake): vocals on track 4
Mannevond (Koldbrann): vocals on track 5, bass on track 12
Malphas (Endezzma/Hagl): guitar solo on track 5 and 12
Niklas Kvarforth (Shining): vocals on track 6
Sorath Northgrove (Beastcraft/Vulture Lord): vocals and lyrics on track 7
Nattefrost (Carpathian Forest): vocals and lyrics on track 8
Skyggen (Tortorum): guitar solo track on track 8
Nag (Tsjuder): vocals on track 9
Diabolus (Vulture Lord): guitar solos on track 9
L.F.F (Angst Skvadron/Tusmorke): keyboards on track 10
Bay Cortez (Sadistic Intent): vocals and bass on track 11
Rick Cortez (Sadistic Intent): guitar solo on track 11
R.M (Angst Skvadron): vocals on track 12

Facebook Trondr Nefas

No comments:

Post a Comment