Support us by donating :)

Your ad here?

Wednesday, January 6, 2016

Abbath premieres new track

Abbath are premiering the next new song taken from their their highly anticipated self-titled debut album. 'Abbath' has been slated for worldwide release on January 22nd. The track "Ashes of the Damned" is now streaming below.

"Ashes of the Damned" will be featured on Abbath's eponymous debut album, which is already available for pre-order on the Season of Mist shop in several formats including a limited edition box with extras and Gatefold vinyl in various colours here.

The Norwegians have previously unveiled the artwork and track-list of 'Abbath'. Both can be viewed below.

01. To War!
02. Winterbane
03. Ashes of the Damned
04. Ocean of Wounds
05. Count the Dead
06. Fenrir Hunts
07. Root of the Mountain
08. Endless
09. Nebular Ravens Winter [bonus]

Abbath have previously announced a string of shows for their first European tour in winter 2016 and many additional headliner dates and festival appearances. See below for the band's updated schedule. The Norwegians will be joining Behemoth, while label mates Inquisition as well as Entombed AD are opening. Winter is coming and along with the cold the hottest extreme metal tour of 2016.

Release Show
23 Jan 16 London (UK) The Forum

Headliner shows
24 Jan 16 Athens (GR) Kytarro
25 Jan 16 Thessaloniki (GR) Eightball
26 Jan 16 Sofia (BG) Mixtape 5
28 Jan 16 Brasov (RO) Club Rockstadt

Tour with Behemoth
+ Inquisition + Entombed AD
29 Jan 16 København (DK) Amager Bio
30 Jan 16 Götenborg (SE) Traedgarn
31 Jan 16 Stockholm (SE) Arenan
02 Feb 16 Hamburg (DE) Markthalle
03 Feb 16 Berlin (DE) Astra
04 Feb 16 Praha (CZ) Meetfactory
05 Feb 16 Essen (DE) Weststadthalle
06 Feb 16 Utrecht (NL) Tivoli
07 Feb 16 Antwerp (BE) Trix
09 Feb 16 Paris (FR) La Cigale
10 Feb 16 Fribourg (CH) Fri-Son
11 Feb 16 Trezzo sull´Adda (IT)
12 Feb 16 Pratteln (CH) Z7
13 Feb 16 München (DE) Backstage
14 Feb 16 Ljubljana (SI) Kino Siska

Headliner shows
15 Feb 16 Wien (AT) Szene
16 Feb 16 Warszawa (PL) Proxima
17 Feb 16 Moscow (RU) Volta
18 Feb 16 St. Petersburg (RU) Zal Ozhidaniya

Festival shows
20 Feb 16 Bergen (NO) Blastfest
17 Mar 16 Baltimore, MD (US) Baltimore Deatfest
18 Jun 16 Clisson (FR) Hellfest (exact date TBA)
19 Jun 16 Dessel (BE) Graspop Open Air (exact date TBA)
08 Jul 16 Viveiro (ES) Resurrection Fest (exact date TBA)

When Abbath announced that he had left Immortal, it sent massive shockwaves through the metal scene. The iconic frontman had long become the "face" of the Norwegian black scene, his image synonymous with this style.

Now the Norwegian giant returns with his new band Abbath and a crushing debut album of the same name. The opening triplet "To War", "Winter Bane", and "Ashes of the Damned" unleashes all the fury of a Nordic blizzard at full force. Yet the following "Ocean of Wounds" proves that his new band is equally at home in writing anthemic mid-tempo hymns. Abbath's characteristic riffing shines clearly through it all: heavy, harsh, and yet catchy and melodic with a touch of epic Bathory, Motörhead, and even Kiss. At the same time there is no danger of repeating the formula of Immortal or the mastermind's other project under the moniker I, which was shared with King. The bass player from Bergen has again joined Abbath and brought his impressive song-writing skills to the battlefield. Gorgoroth, God Seed, and Ov Hell bear witness to King's exceptional talent as a composer, while contributions to Audrey Horne and Sahg demonstrate his wide stylistic range. The final keystone to Abbath lies in the outstanding drumming delivered by the mysterious Creature. The trio has already proved its worth as a live entity at several headlining festival shows as well, where Abbath were joined by an additional guitarist. 'Abbath' impresses from start to finish. This is exactly the album that all fans of this particular Bergen brand of black metal have been hoping for. Hold on tight or get blown away. Abbath are here now and ready to conquer the world!

Abbath: guitar & vocals
King: bass
Creature: drums

Official website

No comments:

Post a Comment